86-1051660414 & 86-13910684455


Home > > Beijing Guide > > Gubeikou Great Wall

Gubeikou Great Wall

Gubeikou Great Wall in WinterGubeikou Great Wall is located in Miyun County, 140 kilometers away from downtown Beijing. The main part of the Gubeikou Wall was first built in the Ming Dynasty 1368. It goes for over 20 kilometers and comprises of the four parts: Wohushan, Panlongshan, Jinshanling and Simatai. Gubeikou occupies a strategically important location which is difficult to access. Situated between Shanhaiguan Pass and Juyongguan Pass, Panlong Mountain and Wohu Mountain are connected by it, with the Chao River flowing across Gubeikou Great Wall, offering an important access to Inner Mongolia, it is the bastion protecting the northern gateway to the capital and northeast of China. This section is the most intact and well preserved, original section of all the sections in Beijing.

Gubeikou Great Wall

The highest peak of Gubeikou Great Wall measures about 2,181 feet. A watch tower is erected every 492 feet of the wall. This section has 143 beacon towers. The inside of these towers is different in design. Some towers have a flat ceiling. Some have an arched ceiling, a domed ceiling, or an octagonal. Each tower consists of two floors, six archways, and ten arched doors, allowing garrisoned soldiers to advance and retreat freely.

Gubeikou has been a town of military importance and a vital passage to the capital city for so long a time. The Yanshan Range goes from east to west and is divided at Gubeikou, constituting a natural narrow pass here. To the west of the pass are the Chaohe River and the Wohu Mountain, and to the east is the Panlong Mountain. From ancient times, Gubeikou Great Wall has worked as a road of strategic importance, connecting the southern and northern parts of the Yanshan Range.


Gubeikou Great Wall Tour

Until today the Gubeikou Great Wall retains its fascination as its raw condition is still evident. And during the tour to Gubeikou Great Wall, tourists could also enjoy the distant view of Jinshanling Great Wall and Simatai Great Wall.